Where Wound Healing Begins.

ACHM Achievements

The American College of Hyperbaric Medicine was founded to support the clinical applications of therapeutic oxygen in the care and treatment of patients with special focus on those patients with non-healing wounds. The ACHM presents yearly awards to select members of the College recognized for their significant contributions to the specialty of hyperbaric medicine.

The Eric P. Kindwall, MD Award of Excellence in Clinical Hyperbaric Medicine

The Award of Excellence is given in recognition to those professionals who have demonstrated a career-long commitment to hyperbaric medicine through excellence in education, application of therapy, research, forward-thinking, and leadership.

Prior Recipients

2018 E. George Wolf, MD, Col (ret) USAF, FUHM
2017 Helen Gelly, MD
2015 Keith Van Meter, MD, FACEP, FACHM
2015 William Zamboni, MD, FACHM
2014 Thomas Serena, MD, FACHM, MAPWCA
2013 Caroline Fife, MD, FACHM, MAPWCA
2012 Jeffrey Niezgoda, MD, FACHM, MAPWCA, CHWS
2011 Robert Bartlett, MD, FACHM, MAPWCA

The Ken Locklear Visionary Award

The Visionary Award is presented by the American College of Hyperbaric Medicine to an individual that has distinguished themselves by exhibiting dedication and passion to the field of hyperbaric medicine. In 2012 the Visionary Award was posthumously created, named after, and presented to Ken Locklear. Ken was an educator, an innovator, a leader, an entrepreneur and a true visionary in the field of hyperbaric medicine.

Prior Recipients

2018 Stephen R. Thom, MD, PhD
2017 Allene Creacy
2015 Ted Gurnee
2014 Edgar Otto
2013 Kevan Corsan, CHWS
2012 Kenneth Locklear, CHWS

The Sharon Baranoski, MSN, RN, CWOCN, Award

The Sharon Baranoski Founder’s Award was presented at the Clinical Symposium on Advances in Skin & Wound Care. The award honors the overall pursuit of excellence in the field of skin and wound care. The award was created in honor of Sharon Baranoski, MSN, RN, CWOCN, founder and symposium director and was supported by an unrestricted educational grant from 3M Health Care.

Prior Recipients

2015 Jeffrey A. Niezgoda, MD, FACHM, MAPWCA, CHWS
Barbara Bates-Jensen, PhD, RN, CWOCN
Rita Frantz, PhD, RN, FAAN
Janet Cuddigan, PhD, RN, CWCN
Luther Kloth, MS, PT, CWS